Lucille Lortel Award Nominations 2020, Off-Broadway Best

Below are the nominations for the 35th annual Lucille Lortel Awards, presented online by Jeremy Jordan and Ashley Spencer (a married couple so they could actually present without a split screen) The awards will be presented to the winners virtually on May 3, 2020.

The most nominated musical in this truncated season is “A Strange Loop,” with seven; the most nominated play, “Heroes of the Fourth Turning,” with six.

This is the first of the theater awards to announce their nominees this year. Check out my guide to New York Theater Awards 2020 – what, when, how and whether.

Some of the nominees are linked to my reviews.

Outstanding Play

Halfway Bitches Go Straight to Heaven”
Heroes of the Fourth Turning
Is This A Room
Mrs. Murray’s Menagerie

Outstanding Musical

A Strange Loop
In The Green
Soft Power
The Secret Life of Bees



Outstanding Revival

A Bright Room Called Day
Fires in the Mirror
for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf
Little Shop of Horrors
Mac Beth

Outstanding Solo Show

Bella Bella
Dana H.
the way she spoke
We’re Only Alive for A Short Amount of Time
Where We Stand


Outstanding Director

Stephen Brackett, “A Strange Loop”
Tina Satter “Is This A Room”
Danya Taymor “Heroes of the Fourth Turning”
Annie Tippe, “Octet”
Les Waters, “Dana H.”

Outstanding Choreographer

Camille A Brown “for colored girls…”
Camille A Brown “Toni Stone”
Raja Feather Kelly, “A Strange Loop”
Sam Pinkleton “Soft Power”
Travis Wall, “The Wrong Man”

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Play

Charles Busch, “The Confession of Lily Dare”
Edmund Donovan, “Greater Clements”
Raul Esparza “Seared”
Hamish Linklater The Pain of My Belligerence”
Aaron Yoo “The Headlands”

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Play

Liza Colon-Zayas, “Halfway Bitches Go Straight to Heaven”
Emily Davis, “Is This A Room”
April Mathis, “Toni Stone”
Zoë Winters, “Heroes of the Fourth Turning”
Kara Young, “All the Natalie Portmans”

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play

Christopher Borg, “The Confession of Lily Dare”
Marc Bovino, “Mrs. Murray’s Menagerie”
Garcia, “Continuity”
Francis Jue, “Cambodian Rock Band”
Ken Narasaki, “Greater Clements”’

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play

Okwui Okpokwasili, “for colored girls…”
Estelle Parsons, “A Bright Room Called Day”
Michele Pawk, “Heroes of the Fourth Turning”
Stephanie Wright Thompson, “Mrs. Murray’s…”
Alexandria Wailes, “for colored girls…”

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Musical

Jonathan Groff Little Shop of Horros
Joshua Henry The Wrong Man
Francis Jue “Soft Power”
Larry Owens A Strange Loop”
Conrad Ricamora Soft Power

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Musical

Eisa Davis, “The Secret Life of Bees”
La Chanze, “The Secret Life of Bees”
Beth Malone, “The Unsinkable Molly Brown”
Janelle Mcdermoth, “We’re Gonna Die”
Grace McLean, “In The Green”

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical

Christian Borle, Little Shop of Horrors
Alex Gibson, “Octet”
Gus Halper, “Sing Street” (
Jay Armstrong Johnson, “Scotland, PA”
John-Andrew Morrison, “A Strange Loop”

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical

Ashley Pérez Flanagan, “In The Green”
Ari Groover,Little Shop of Horror
L Morgan Lee, A Strange Loop
Ciara Renee, The Wrong Man
Kuhoo Verma, Octet

Outstanding Scenic Design

You-Shin Chen & Laura Jellinek, “Mrs. Murray’s Menagerie”
Yu-Hsuan Chen, druglordplay
Tim Mackabee, “Seared”
James Noone, “London Assurance”
Clint Ramos, “Soft Power”

Outstanding Costume Design

Dede Ayite, BLKS
Montana Levi Blanco, A Strange Loop
Oana Botez, In The Green
Toni-Leslie James, for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf
Rachel Townsend and Jessica Jahn, The Confession of Lily Dare

Outstanding Lighting Design

Isabella Byrd, “Heroes of the Fourth Turning”
Alan C. Edwards, “Fires in the Mirror”
Tyler Micoleau, “Socrates”
Barbara Samuels, “In The Green”
Jen Schriever, “Power Strip”

Outstanding Sound Design

Justin Ellington, “Heroes of the Fourth Turning”
Mikhail Fiksel, “Dana H.”
Lee Kinney & Sanae Yamada, “Is This A Room”
Hidenori Nakajo, “Octet”
Nicholas Pope, “In The Green”

Outstanding Projection Design

Stephan Mazurek, “Mojada
Lisa Renkel and Possible, Emojiland
Ruey Horng Sun, “The Headlands”
Hannah Wasileski, “Anatomy of a Suicide”
Hannah Wasileski, “Fires in the Mirror”



Lifetime Achievement Award
Tim Sanford, artistic director of Playwrights Horizons

Playwrights’ Sidewalk Inductee
Anna Deavere Smith

Author: New York Theater

Jonathan Mandell is a 3rd generation NYC journalist, who sees shows, reads plays, writes reviews and sometimes talks with people.

Leave a Reply