2015 Lucille Lortel Awards for Off-Broadway: Hamilton Sweeps


LucilleLortelAwardsHamilton has swept the Lucille Lortel Awards, winning in every category in which it was nominated, a record-breaking ten awards in all, including for best musical, best leads, best director, and best choreographer, best designers. Between Riverside and Crazy, this year’s Pulitzer winning drama, won awards for outstanding play, lead actor and featured actress.

Results of the 30th annual Lucille Lortel Awards for achievement Off-Broadway. Winners in red with an * asterisk.

Outstanding Play

*Between Riverside and Crazy Produced by Atlantic Theater Company, Written by Stephen Adly Guirgis

Father Comes Home From the Wars (Parts 1, 2 & 3), Produced by The Public Theater in association with American Repertory Theater, Written by Suzan-Lori Parks

The Invisible Hand, Produced by New York Theatre Workshop, Written by Ayad Akhtar

My Mañana Comes, Produced by The Playwrights Realm, Written by Elizabeth Irwin

The Nether, Produced by MCC Theater, Written by Jennifer Haley

Outstanding Musical

The Fortress of Solitude – Produced by The Public Theater in association with Dallas Theater Center, Book by Itamar Moses, Music and Lyrics by Michael Friedman, Conceived by Daniel Aukin, Based upon the novel by Jonathan Lethem

*Hamilton – Produced by The Public Theater, Book, Music and Lyrics by Lin-Manuel Miranda, Inspired by the book Alexander Hamilton by Ron Chernow

The Lightning Thief – Produced by Theatreworks USA, Music and Lyrics by Rob Rokicki, Book by Joe Tracz. Adapted from the book by Rick Riordan

Nevermore – The Imaginary Life and Mysterious Death of Edgar Allan Poe, Produced by Radio Mouse Entertainment, Martin Hummel, Caiola Productions, Terry Schnuck, Susan Jaffe Tane, Hernreich-Horvath Productions, Catalyst Theatre in association with Fireboat Productions, Mary Cossette, Meredith Lynsey Schade, Written and Composed by Jonathan Christenson

Pretty Filthy – Produced by The Civilians in association with Jon B. Platt, Music and Lyrics by Michael Friedman, Book by Bess Wohl, Conceived by Steve Cosson, Michael Friedman & Bess Wohl

Outstanding Revival

Fashions for Men – Produced by Mint Theater Company, Written by Ferenc Molnár

Indian Ink – Produced by Roundabout Theatre Company in association with American Conservatory Theater, Written by Tom Stoppard

*Into the Woods – Produced by Roundabout Theatre Company in association with McCarter Theatre Center, a Fiasco Theater production, Music and Lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, Book by James Lapine

Sticks and Bones – Produced by The New Group, Written by David Rabe

The Wayside Motor Inn. Produced by Signature Theatre, Written by A.R. Gurney

Outstanding Solo Show

EVERY BRILLIANT THING, Produced by Scott Morfee, Jean Doumanian, Tom Wirtshafter, Patrick Daly, Kelpie Arts LLC, Scott Rudin, Marc & Lisa Biales, Terry Allen Kramer, Michael Ostin, Written by Duncan Macmillan with Jonny Donahoe, Performed by Jonny Donahoe

*Josephine and I, Produced by The Public Theater, Written and Performed by Cush Jumbo

Just Jim Dale, Produced by Roundabout Theatre Company,Written and Performed by Jim Dale

The Lion, Produced by Manhattan Theatre Club, Written and Performed by Benjamin Scheuer

Outstanding Director

Michael Greif, Our Lady of Kibeho

*Thomas Kail, Hamilton

Austin Pendleton, Between Riverside and Crazy

Ken Rus Schmoll, The Invisible Hand

Ivo van Hove, Scenes From a Marriage

Outstanding Choreographer

*Andy Blankenbuehler, Hamilton

Camille A. Brown, The Fortress of Solitude

Denis Jones, Piece of My Heart: The Bert Berns Story

Laura Krewski, Nevermore – The Imaginary Life and Mysterious Death of Edgar Allan Poe

Lisa Shriver, Into the Woods

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Play

Usman Ally, The Invisible Hand

Carson Elrod, The Heir Apparent

*Stephen McKinley Henderson, Between Riverside and Crazy

Owiso Odera, Our Lady of Kibeho

Bill Pullman, Sticks and Bones

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Play

Quincy Tyler Bernstine, Grand Concourse

Anna Gunn, Sex With Strangers

Jan Maxwell, The City of Conversation

S. Epatha Merkerson, While I Yet Live

*Tonya Pinkins, Rasheeda Speaking

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Musical

Adam Chanler-Berat, The Fortress of Solitude

Claybourne Elder, Allegro

*Lin-Manuel Miranda, Hamilton

Leslie Odom Jr., Hamilton

Ben Steinfeld, Into the Woods

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Musical

Michelle Knight, DISENCHANTED! The Hilarious Hit Musical

Jennifer Mudge, Into the Woods

Sally Murphy, The Threepenny Opera

*Phillipa Soo, Hamilton

Lillias White, Texas in Paris

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play

Victor Almanzar, Between Riverside and Crazy

*Jacob Ming-Trent, Father Comes Home From the Wars (Parts 1, 2 & 3)

Jesse Pennington, Bootycandy

Will Pullen, Punk Rock

Scott Shepherd, The Village Bike

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play

Sophia Anne Caruso, The Nether

Sun Mee Chomet, brownsville song (b-side for tray)

*Liza Colón-Zayas, Between Riverside and Crazy

Beth Dixon, The City of Conversation

Deirdre O’Connell, By the Water

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical

*Daveed Diggs, Hamilton

Andy Grotelueschen, Into the Woods

Brian d’Arcy James, Hamilton

Kevin Mambo, The Fortress of Solitude

Steve Rosen, Pretty Filthy

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical

*Renée Elise Goldsberry, Hamilton

Luba Mason, Pretty Filthy

Lulu Picart, DISENCHANTED! The Hilarious Hit Musical

Jessica Tyler Wright, Allegro

Emily Young, Into the Woods

Outstanding Scenic Design

Brett J. Banakis, Big Love

Laura Jellinek, The Nether

Derek McLane, Into the Woods

Walt Spangler, Between Riverside and Crazy

*Jan Versweyveld, Scenes From a Marriage


Outstanding Costume Design

Candice Donnelly, Indian Ink

Bretta Gerecke, Nevermore – The Imaginary Life and Mysterious Death of Edgar Allan Poe

Clint Ramos, Bootycandy

*Paul Tazewell, Hamilton

Anthony Ward, Josephine and I

Outstanding Lighting Design

*Howell Binkley, Hamilton

David Lander, The Library

Tyler Micoleau, The Invisible Hand

Ben Stanton, The Nether

Japhy Weideman, Punk Rock

Outstanding Sound Design

Mikhail Fiksel, My Mañana Comes

Leah Gelpe, The Invisible Hand

Daniel Kluger and Brandon Wolcott, The Nether

*Nevin Steinberg, Hamilton

Matt Tierney, Pocatello


Lifetime Achievement Award

Terrence McNally

Playwrights’ Sidewalk Inductee

Jeanine Tesori

Edith Oliver Service to Off-Broadway Award

Nancy Nagel Gibbs


Author: New York Theater

Jonathan Mandell is a 3rd generation NYC journalist, who sees shows, reads plays, writes reviews and sometimes talks with people.

Leave a Reply