2014 Lucille Lortel Award Winners: Best of Off-Broadway: Fun Home; Will Eno, Alex Timbers’ Sweet Revenge


Fun Home won Best Musical, and both Will Eno and Alex Timbers offset whatever disappointment they felt with the Tony nominations, by winning Best Play and Best Director of a Musical, respectively.

The winners of the 2014 Lucille Lortel Awards  (asterisk and boldfaced)

Outstanding Play

Bad Jews Produced by Roundabout Theatre Company, Written by Joshua Harmon

DomesticatedProduced by Lincoln Center Theater, Written by Bruce Norris

The Night Alive, Produced by Atlantic Theater Company, Written by Conor McPherson

*The Open House, Produced by Signature Theatre, Written by Will Eno


Outstanding Musical

*Fun HomeProduced by The Public Theater, Music by Jeanine Tesori, Book and Lyrics by Lisa Kron, Based on theAlison Bechdel book

Here Lies LoveProduced by The Public Theater, Concept and Lyrics by David Byrne, Music by David Byrne andFatboy Slim, Additional Music by Tom Ganey and J Pardo

Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812Produced by Howard & Janet Kagan, Paula Marie Black, John Logan,Lisa Matlin, Daveed Frazier, Tom Smedes, Vertical Ent./Roman Gambourg/Lev Gelfer, Written by Dave Malloy

What’s It All AboutProduced by New York Theatre Workshop, Music by Burt Bacharach, Lyrics by Hal David and Others, Conceived by Kyle Riabko and David Lane Seltzer

Outstanding Revival

*Good Person of Szechwan, Produced by The Public Theater and The Foundry Theatre, Written by Bertolt Brecht, Translation by John Willett

Hand to God, Produced by MCC Theater, Written by Robert Askins

London Wall, Produced by Mint Theater Company, Written by John van Druten

The Model Apartment, Produced by Primary Stages, Written by Donald Margulies

The Weir, Produced by The Irish Repertory Theatre, Written by Conor McPherson

Outstanding Solo Show

*Buyer & CellarProduced by Darren Bagert, Dan Shaheen, Ted Snowdon, Daryl Roth, Martin Massman, Pat Flicker Addiss,Doug Nevin, Joan Raffe & Jhett Tolentino, Andrew Tobias, Rattlestick Playwrights Theater,Written byJonathan Tolins – Performed by Michael Urie

How I Learned What I LearnedProduced by Signature Theatre, Written by August Wilson, Co-conceived with Todd Kreidler, in collaboration with Ruben-Santiago Hudson Performed by Ruben Santiago-Hudson

Satchmo at the WaldorfProduced by Long Wharf Theatre, Shakespeare and Company, Scott and Roxanne Bok, Roz and Jerry Meyer, Ronald Guttman, Shadowcatcher Entertainment, John LaMattina, Written by Terry Teachoutand Performed by John Douglas Thompson

Outstanding Director

Rachel Chavkin, Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812

Lear deBessonet, Good Person of Szechwan

Sam Gold, Fun Home

*Alex Timbers, Here Lies Love

Moritz von Stuelpnagel, Hand to God

Outstanding Choreographer

Martha Clarke, Chéri

Marguerite Derricks, Heathers: The Musical

Danny Mefford, Fun Home

Annie-B Parson, Here Lies Love

*Sonya Tayeh, Kung Fu


Outstanding Lead Actor in a Play

*Steven Boyer, Hand to God

Jon DeVries, Regular Singing

Peter Friedman, The Open House

Taylor Mac, Good Person of Szechwan

Armando Riesco, The Happiest Song Plays Last

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Play

*Tracee Chimo, Bad Jews

Diane Davis, The Model Apartment

Carolyn McCormick, The Open House

Laurie Metcalf, Domesticated

Andrus Nichols, Bedlam’s Hamlet and Saint Joan

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Musical

Jeff Blumenkrantz, Murder For Two

*Michael Cerveris, Fun Home

Jose Llana, Here Lies Love

Kyle Riabko, What’s It All About

Conrad Ricamora, Here Lies Love

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Musical

Sydney Lucas, Fun Home

*Ruthie Ann Miles, Here Lies Love

Alexandra Socha, Fun Home

Phillipa Soo, Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812

Barrett Wilbert Weed, Heathers: The Musical

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play

Carson Elrod, The Explorers Club

Philip Ettinger, Bad Jews

Russell G. Jones, The Call

*Jeremy Shamos, Dinner With Friends

Fred Weller, Reasons to Be Happy

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play

Hannah Bos, The Open House

Lynn Cohen, I Remember Mama

*Lisa Kron, Good Person of Szechwan

Molly Ranson, Bad Jews

Sarah Stiles, Hand to God

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical

Heath Calvert, Nobody Loves You

Nick Choksi, Bunty Berman Presents…

Blake DeLong, Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812

Noah Hinsdale, Fun Home

*Lucas Steele, Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812


Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical

Uzo Aduba, Venice

Brittain Ashford, Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812

Melody Butiu, Here Lies Love

*Judy Kuhn, Fun Home

Shaina Taub, Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812


Outstanding Scenic Design

Miriam Buether, Love and Information

David Korins, Here Lies Love

*Mimi Lien, Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812

Clint Ramos, Appropriate

Matt Saunders, Good Person of Szechwan


Outstanding Costume Design (tie)

Gabriel Berry and Andrea Hood, Love and Information

*Clint Ramos, Here Lies Love

Anita Yavich, The Explorers Club

*Paloma Young, Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812

Catherine Zuber, Far From Heaven

Outstanding Lighting Design

Daniel Ionazzi, The Jacksonian

Bradley King, Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812

Ben Stanton, Fun Home

*Justin Townsend, Here Lies Love

Japhy Weideman, What’s It All About


Outstanding Sound Design

*M.L. Dogg and Cody Spencer, Here Lies Love

Clive Goodwin, What’s It All About

Matt Hubbs, Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812

Ryan Rumery, The Hatmaker’s Wife

Christopher Shutt, Love and Information



Lifetime Achievement Award

Robyn Goodman

Playwrights’ Sidewalk Inductee

Richard Nelson


Representatives of the Off-Broadway League, Actors’ Equity Association, Stage Directors & Choreographers Society, the Lucille Lortel Foundation, in addition to theatre journalists, academics and other Off-Broadway professionals, serve on the Voting Committee.

Author: New York Theater

Jonathan Mandell is a 3rd generation NYC journalist, who sees shows, reads plays, writes reviews and sometimes talks with people.

Leave a Reply