2022 Drama League Awards: Lehman Trilogy, A Strange Loop, Sutton Foster.

“The Lehman Trilogy” was voted outstanding play and “A Strange Loop” outstanding musical at the 88th annual Drama League Awards, which were announced today at the Ziegfeld Ballroom. Sutton Foster won the distinguished performance award.

Don’t know the difference between the awards of the Drama League and the Drama Desk and the New York Drama Critics Circle? Read my 2022 guide and calendar to New York Theater Awards

Click here for list of 2022 Drama League nominations, from which the awardees were chosen.

Complete list of winners:

Outstanding Production of a Play – The Lehman Trilogy

Outstanding Revival of a Play – Take Me Out 

Outstanding Production of a Musical – A Strange Loop 

Outstanding Revival of a Musical – Company 

Outstanding Director of a Play – Kate Whoriskey, Clyde’s 

Outstanding Director of a Musical – Marianne Elliott, Company 

Distinguished Performance Award – Sutton Foster 


Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre – Hugh Jackman 

Founders Award for Excellence in Directing – Lileana Blain-Cruz 

Contribution to the Theater – Billy Crystal 

The Gratitude Award – Willette Murphy Klausner 

Author: New York Theater

Jonathan Mandell is a 3rd generation NYC journalist, who sees shows, reads plays, writes reviews and sometimes talks with people.

Leave a Reply