Lucille Lortel Award Nominations 2022. Off Broadway’s Best

Below are the nominations for the 37th Annual Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway. “Kimberly Akimbo” and “Oratorio for Living Things” have the most nominations, at six apiece. Winners will be announced in a ceremony May 1, 2022 at NYU Skirball.


Outstanding Play

Coal Country
Produced by Audible and The Public Theater
Written by Jessica Blank and Erik Jensen

Produced by Atlantic Theater Company and Roundabout Theatre Company
Written by Sanaz Toossi

Letters of Suresh
Produced by Second Stage Theater
Written by Rajiv Joseph

On Sugarland 
Produced by New York Theatre Workshop
Written by Aleshea Harris

Prayer for the French Republic
Produced by Manhattan Theatre Club
Written by Joshua Harmon

Outstanding Musical

Black No More
Produced by The New Group
Book by John Ridley, Lyrics by Tariq Trotter, Music by Tariq Trotter, Anthony Tidd, James Poyser, and Daryl Waters

Intimate Apparel 
Produced by Lincoln Center Theater
Music by Ricky Ian Gordon, Libretto by Lynn Nottage

Kimberly Akimbo
Produced by Atlantic Theater Company
Book and Lyrics by David Lindsay-Abaire, Music by Jeanine Tesori,
Based on the Play by David Lindsay-Abaire

Oratorio For Living Things
Produced by Ars Nova
By Heather Christian

Outstanding Revival

Produced by Classic Stage Company
Music and Lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, Book by John Weidman, From an Idea by Charles Gilbert, Jr.

The Chinese Lady
Produced by Ma-Yi Theater Company, presented by The Public Theater, a Barrington Stage Company and Ma-Yi Theater Company production
Written by Lloyd Suh

Produced by Signature Theatre
Written by Anna Deavere Smith

Outstanding Solo Show

Kristina Wong, Sweatshop Overlord
Produced by New York Theatre Workshop
Written and Performed by Kristina Wong

Produced by Rashad V. Chambers, Willette & Manny Klausner, E. Clayton Cornelious/Joshua Morgan, Victoria Bondoc, McCabe Productions LLC, Live & In Color
Written by Laiona Michelle, Additional Materials by Devanand Janki, Music and Lyrics by Various Composers
Performed by Laiona Michelle

Outstanding Director

David Cromer – Prayer for the French Republic

John Doyle – ASSASSINS

Lee Sunday Evans – Oratorio For Living Things

Taibi Magar – TWILIGHT: LOS ANGELES, 1992

Whitney White – On Sugarland

Outstanding Choreographer

Bill T. Jones – Black No More

Raja Feather Kelly – On Sugarland 

Danny Mefford – Kimberly Akimbo

Josh Prince – Trevor: A New Musical

Randy Skinner – Cheek to Cheek: IRVING BERLIN IN HOLLYWOOD

Outstanding Lead Performer in a Play

Stephanie Berry – On Sugarland

W. Tré Davis – Tambo & Bones

Elizabeth Marvel – Long Day’s Journey Into Night

Shannon Tyo – The Chinese Lady

Mary Wiseman – At the Wedding

Outstanding Featured Performer in a Play

Abena – Nollywood Dreams

Betsy Aidem – Prayer for the French Republic

Francis Benhamou – Prayer for the French Republic

Jacob Ming-Trent – The Alchemist

Thom Sesma – Letters of Suresh

Outstanding Lead Performer in a Musical

Kearstin Piper Brown – Intimate Apparel

Victoria Clark – Kimberly Akimbo

Justin Cooley – Kimberly Akimbo

Tamika Lawrence – Black No More

Ahmad Maksoud – The Visitor

Outstanding Featured Performer in a Musical

Steven Boyer – Kimberly Akimbo

Bonnie Milligan – Kimberly Akimbo

Ethan Slater – ASSASSINS

Will Swenson – ASSASSINS

Lillias White – Black No More

Outstanding Ensemble


Tala Ashe, Ava Lalezarzadeh, Pooya Mohseni, Marjan Neshat, Hadi Tabbal

Oratorio For Living Things

Johnny Butler, Kirstyn Cae Ballard, Jane Cardona, Sean Donovan, Carla Duren, Clérida Eltimé, Ashley Pérez Flanagan, Brian Flores, Odetta Hartman, Quentin Oliver Lee, Angel Lozada, Divya Maus, Barrie Lobo McLain, Ben Moss, John Murchison, Onyie Nwachukwu, Dito Van Reigersberg, Peter Wise


Elena Hurst, Wesley T. Jones, Francis Jue, Karl Kenzler, Tiffany Rachelle Stewart

Outstanding Scenic Design

Wilson Chin – Space Dogs

Marsha Ginsberg – English

Adam Rigg – cullud wattah

Adam Rigg – On Sugarland

David Rockwell, Christopher and Justin Swader – SEVEN DEADLY SINS

Outstanding Costume Design

Ari Fulton – Confederates

Gregory Gale – Fairycakes

Dominique Fawn Hill – Tambo & Bones

Márion Talán de la Rosa – Oratorio For Living Things

Catherine Zuber – Intimate Apparel

Outstanding Lighting Design

Isabella Byrd – Sanctuary City

Lap Chi Chu – Morning Sun

Jeff Croiter – Black No More

Stacey Derosier – sandblasted

Jeanette Oi-Suk Yew – Oratorio For Living Things

Outstanding Sound Design

Mikhail Fiksel – Tambo & Bones

Nick Kourtides – Oratorio For Living Things

Fabian Obispo – The Chinese Lady

Mikaal Sulaiman – Sanctuary City

Darron L West – TWILIGHT: LOS ANGELES, 1992

Outstanding Projection Design

David Bengali and Hana S. Kim – The Visitor

Shawn Duan – Letters of Suresh

Shawn Duan – The Chinese Lady

Yee Eun Nam – Long Day’s Journey Into Night

Caite Hevner – Kristina Wong, Sweatshop Overlord


Lifetime Achievement Award

Deirdre O’Connell

Playwrights’ Sidewalk Inductee

David Henry Hwang

Author: New York Theater

Jonathan Mandell is a 3rd generation NYC journalist, who sees shows, reads plays, writes reviews and sometimes talks with people.

Leave a Reply