A Century Of Women Playwrights Who Won The Pulitzer Prize for Drama

Eighteen women have won the Pulitzer Prize for Drama, from “Miss Lulu Bett,” which Zona Gale adapted from her own novel in 1921, to “The Hot Wing King” by Katori Hall in 2021 –a century of women honored for writing for the stage. Some two dozen other female playwrights have been Pulitzer finalists since the finalist category was created in 1983. During Women’s History Month, we celebrate them and their work.

(Each play title is linked to an Amazon page where you can learn more about it, and purchase the script.)

Zona Gale, Miss Lulu Bett, 1921 (the link is to the novel)

Susan Glaspell, Alison’s House, 1931 (the link is to a collection of Glaspell plays)

Zoe Akins, The old maid,, 1935

Mary Coyle Chase, Harvey, 1945

Frances Goodrich, The Diary of Anne Frank., 1956 (co-written with Albert Hackett)

Ketti Frings, Look Homeward, Angel, 1958

Beth Henley, Crimes of the Heart., 1981

Marsha Norman, ‘night, Mother, 1983

Wendy Wasserstein, The Heidi Chronicles., 1989

Paula Vogel, How I Learned to Drive, 1998 (a production of which is opening on Broadway next month, starring the original cast)

Margaret Edson, Wit, 1999

Suzan-Lori Parks, TOPDOG UNDERDOG, 2002

Lynn Nottage, Ruined, 2009

Quiara Alegría Hudes, Water by the Spoonful, 2012

Annie Baker, The Flick, 2014

Martyna Majok , Cost of Living  2017

Lynn Nottage, Sweat  2018 (Nottage is the only woman to win the Pulitzer Prize for Drama twice.)

Jackie Sibblies Drury, Fairview 2019

Katori Hall, The Hot Wing King, 2021

Author: New York Theater

Jonathan Mandell is a 3rd generation NYC journalist, who sees shows, reads plays, writes reviews and sometimes talks with people.

1 thought on “A Century Of Women Playwrights Who Won The Pulitzer Prize for Drama

  1. The biggest gap between awards is the 60s-70s when Women’s Lib was big. Coincidence, irony, or conspiracy?

Leave a Reply