Nominations for Off Broadway Alliance 2020 Awards and Drama League’s Gratitude Awards

Below are the separate lists of nominees for both the 10th annual Off Broadway Alliance Awards, whose winners will be announced May 19, 2020, and then, the nominations for the Drama League’s new Gratitude Awards, whose winners will be announced on April 30, 2020..

2019-20 Off Broadway Alliance Award Nominations are:

Best New Play

Ain’t No Mo’
By Jordan E. Cooper
Produced by The Public Theater

Halfway Bitches Go Straight to Heaven
By Stephen Adly Guirgus
Co-production between Atlantic Theater Company and LAByrinth Theater Company

Life Sucks
By Aaron Posner
Produced by Wheelhouse Theater

Make Believe
By Bess Wohl
Produced by Second Stage Theater

The Confession of Lily Dare
By Charles Busch
Produced by Primary Stages in Association with Jamie deRoy and Ted Snowden

Best Play Revival

For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide / When the Rainbow is Enuf
By Ntozake Shange
Produced by The Public Theater

Much Ado About Nothing
By William Shakespeare
Produced by The Public Theater

The Woman in Black
Adapted by Stephen Mallatratt
From the novel by Susan Hill
Presented by the McKittrick Hotel

Timon of Athens
By William Shakespeare
Produced by Theatre for a New Audience and Shakespeare Theater Company

Best New Musical

A Strange Loop
Book, Music & Lyrics by Michael R Jackson
Produced by Playwrights Horizons and Page 73

Cambodian Rock Band
By Lauren Yee
Songs by Dengue Fever
Produced by Signature Theatre Company

Book, Music, and Lyrics by Keith Harrison and Laura Schein
Produced by Arborhouse Productions and Visceral Entertainment

Romeo & Bernadette: A Musical Tale of Verona and Brooklyn
Book & Lyrics by Mark Saltzman
Produced by Amas Musical Theatre and Eric Krebs

Sing Street
Book by Enda Walsh, Music & Lyrics by John Carney and Gary Clark
Produced by New York Theatre Workshop

The Secret Life of Bees
Book by Lynn Nottage
Music by Duncan Sheik
Lyrics by Susan Birkenhead
Produced by the Atlantic Theater Company

Best Musical Revival

Book by Sybille Pearson, Music by David Shire, Lyrics by Richard Maltby Jr
Produced by Out of the Box Theatrics

Enter Laughing
Book by Joseph Stein, Music & Lyrics by Stan Daniels
Produced by The York Theater Company

Little Shop of Horrors
Book & Lyrics by Howard Ashman, Music by Alan Menken
Produced by Robert Ahrens, Hunter Arnold, Mickey Liddell, Curt Cronin, John Joseph, and Tom

Rock of Ages
Book by Chris D’Arienzo
Produced by S2BN Entertainment

The Unsinkable Molly Brown
Music and lyrics by Meredith Willson; Book and new lyrics by Dick Scanlan, based on the original book
by Richard Morris; Music adaptation by Michael Rafter
Produced by Transport Group

Best Unique Theatrical Experience

Dana H.
By Lucas Hnath
Produced by Vineyard Theatre, Goodman Theatre, and Center Theatre Group

Midsummer: A Banquet
By William Shakespeare. Adapted by Zach Morris and Victoria Rae Sook
Produced by Food of Love Productions and Third Rail Projects

Novenas for a Lost Hospital
By Cusi Cram
Produced by Rattlestick Playwrights Theater

Playing Hot
Created by Kevin Armento and Jaki Bradley
Written by Kevin Armento and C.A. Johnson
Produced by Pipeline Theater

Katsura Sunshine’s Rakugo
Created and Performed by Katsura Sunshine
Produced by Joe Trentacosta, Yoshitaka Tanaka, Yumi Shinozaki, and Marie Fukuda

Best Solo Performance

Kathleen Chalfant in A Woman of the World
By Rebecca Gilman
Produced by The Acting Company and 59E59 Theaters

Keith Hamilton Cobb in American Moor
By Keith Hamilton Cobb
Produced by Evangeline Morphos, Frederick M Zollo, Red Bull Theater, Elizabeth I McCann, and Tom

Harvey Fierstein in Bella Bella
By Harvey Fierstein
Produced by Manhattan Theatre Club

Ken Jennings in Gospel of John
Conceived by Ken Jennings
Produced by The Sheen Center for Thought and Culture

Bill Posley in The Day I Became Black
Created and written by Bill Posley
Produced by Kristen Boulé

Aedín Moloney in Yes! Reflections of Molly Bloom
Adaptation by Aedín Moloney and Colum McCann
Produced by Irish Repertory Theatre

Best Family Show

Dog Man: The Musical
Music by Brad Alexander
Books and Lyrics by Kevin DelAguila
Based on the series by Dav Pilkey
Produced by TheatreWorks USA

Paddington Gets in a Jam
Created by Jonathan Rockefeller
Written by Doug Kmiotek
Based on the series by Michael Bond
Produced by Rockefeller Productions

She Persisted, The Musical
Script & Lyrics by Adam Tobin
Music by Deborah Wicks La Puma
Adapted from the Book by Chelsea Clinton
Produced by Atlantic Theater Company

Taste the Clouds
Created by Hit the Lights! Theater Co.
Based on the book “Taste the Clouds” by Rita Marshall
Produced by New York Children’s Theatre

The Big One-Oh!
Music by Doug Besterman
Lyrics by Dean Pitchford
Book by Timothy Allen McDonald
Based on the Novel by Dean Pitchford
Produced by Atlantic Theater Company

Special Honorees:

Legends of Off Broadway – honoring sustained achievement Off Broadway
Gretchen Cryer: Off-Broadway Playwright, lyricist and actress, co-author of I’m Getting My Act
Together and Taking It on the Road
Woodie King, Jr.: Founding director of the New Federal Theatre in New York City and Off Broadway
producer and director
Eric Krebs: Off Broadway producer and founder and director of the Off-Broadway’s John Houseman
Theater Center and Douglas Fairbanks Theater.
Barbara Zinn Krieger: Founder of New York City Children’s Theater and Executive Director and
Founder of Vineyard Theatre.

Off Broadway Hall of Fame Inductees – A posthumous award that honors a lifetime of extraordinary
contributions to Off Broadway
Mark Blum an actor whose Off Broadway career spanned over five decades and 26 productions
Wynn Handman – Off Broadway Director and teacher and Co-Founder and Artistic Director of The
American Place Theatre
Julia Miles – Trailblazing Founder of the Women’s Project Theater

Friend of Off Broadway – Award – honors persons or organizations for their steadfast support of the Off Broadway community over many years.
The Drama Bookshop

The list of nominators and nominees for the Drama League’s newly created Gratitude Awards (which replace its planned 86th annual awards):
Kristin Chenoweth: Rosie O’Donnell
Marianne Elliott: Company associate director Gina Rattan
Megan Hilty: Tony winner Idina Menzel
Nathan Lane: Ken Brown, Lane’s dresser since 1992
Kelli O’Hara: Director Scott Ellis
Idina Menzel: Joby Horrigan, her longtime dresser
Condola Rashad: Press agent and producer Irene Gandy
Elizabeth Stanley: Jagged Little Pill dresser Dyanna Hallick
Aaron Tveit: Scotty Cain, Tveit’s dresser at Moulin Rouge!
Adrienne Warren: Cate Goetschius, Warren’s dresser of nearly 10 years.

Author: New York Theater

Jonathan Mandell is a 3rd generation NYC journalist, who sees shows, reads plays, writes reviews and sometimes talks with people.

Leave a Reply