2017 Lucille Lortel Award Winners: Oslo, The Band’s Visit

The Band’s Visit won best musical and Oslo the best play in the 32nd Annual Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway.

LortelAwardstrophyOutstanding Play: 


Outstanding Musical:

The Band’s Visit 

Outstanding Revival:  Sweeney Todd

Outstanding Solo Show: Notes From The Field (Anna Deavere Smith)

Outstanding Director: Bartlett Sher, Oslo

Outstanding Choreographer: David Dorfman, Indecent

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Play: Joe Morton, Turn Me Loose

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Play: Jennifer Ehle, Oslo

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Musical: Ben Platt, Dear Evan Hansen

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Musical: Katrina Lenk, The Band’s Visit

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play: Michael Aronov, Oslo

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play:  Randy Graff, The Babylon Line

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical: Joel Perez, Sweet Charity.

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical: Rachel Bay Jones, Dear Evan Hansen

Outstanding Scenic Design: Laura Jellinek, A Life

Outstanding Costume Design: Susan Hilferty, Love Love Love

Outstanding Lighting Design:  Mark Barton, Signature Plays

Outstanding Sound Design: Mikhail Fiksel, A Life

Outstanding Projection Design: Jared Mezzochi, Vietgone



Lifetime Achievement Award: William Ivey Long

Playwrights Sidewalk Inductee: Lynn Nottage

Edith Oliver Service to Off-Broadway Award: Harold Wolpert.

See list of 2017 Lucille Lortel nominees

Check out my 2017 Guide to New York Theater Awards

Author: New York Theater

Jonathan Mandell is a 3rd generation NYC journalist, who sees shows, reads plays, writes reviews and sometimes talks with people.

Leave a Reply