Women Playwrights Who Won the Pulitzer Prize for Drama

Seventeen women have won the Pulitzer Prize for Drama. On this International Women’s Day, we celebrate them and their work. (Each play title is linked to an Amazon page where you can learn more about it, and purchase the script.)

Zona Gale, Miss Lulu Bett, 1921

Susan Glaspell, Alison’s House, 1931

Zoe Akins, The old maid,, 1935

Mary Coyle Chase, Harvey, 1945

Frances Goodrich, The Diary of Anne Frank., 1956 (co-written with Albert Hackett)

Ketti Frings, Look Homeward, Angel, 1958

Beth Henley, Crimes of the Heart., 1981

Marsha Norman, ‘night, Mother, 1983

Wendy Wasserstein, The Heidi Chronicles., 1989

Paula Vogel, How I Learned to Drive, 1998

Margaret Edson, Wit, 1999

Suzan-Lori Parks, TOPDOG UNDERDOG, 2002

Lynn Nottage, Ruined, 2009

Quiara Alegría Hudes, Water by the Spoonful, 2012

Annie Baker, The Flick, 2014


Martyna Majok , Cost of Living 2017

Lynn Nottage, Sweat 2018

Jackie Sibblies Drury, Fairview 2019

Katori Hall, The Hot Wing King, 2021

Author: New York Theater

Jonathan Mandell is a 3rd generation NYC journalist, who sees shows, reads plays, writes reviews and sometimes talks with people.

Leave a Reply