2016 Obie Awards:The Humans, Eclipsed, Dear Evan Hansen


Rajiv Joseph’s “Guards at the Taj “won Best New American Play and $1,000 at the 61st annual Obie Awards.

The Humans won for playwriting and best performance. Eclipsed won for best ensemble acting.

Full list below:


Lucas Hnath, The Christians (Playwrights Horizons) and Red Speedo (New York

Theatre Workshop)

Stephen Karam, The Humans (Roundabout Theatre Company)


Musical Theater

Steven Levenson (book), Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (music & lyrics), Dear Evan

Hansen (Second Stage Theatre)



Rachel Chavkin, The Royale (Lincoln Center Theater)

Michael Leibenluft, I’ll Never Love Again (Bushwick Starr)


Khris Davis, The Royale (Lincoln Center Theater)

Emily Donahoe, The Christians (Playwrights Horizons)

Georgia Engel, John (Signature Theatre Company)

Ensemble, Eclipsed (The Public Theater): Pascale Armand, Akosua Busia, Zainab

Jah, Lupita Nyong’o, Saycon Sengbloh

Jayne Houdyshell, The Humans (Roundabout Theatre Company)
Omar Metwally and Arian Moayed, Guards at the Taj (Atlantic Theater Company)
Ben Platt, Dear Evan Hansen (Second Stage Theatre)

Lucas Caleb Rooney, Red Speedo (New York Theatre Workshop)
Tamara Tunie, Familiar (Playwrights Horizons)



Rachel Hauck, Sustained Excellence of Set Design

Jason Lyons, Sustained Excellence of Lighting Design

James Ortiz, Puppet Design, The Woodsman (New World Stages)

Bray Poor, Sustained Excellence of Sound Design

Kaye Voyce, Sustained Excellence of Costume Design


Special Citations: Collaboration

Annie Baker (playwright), Sam Gold (director), and the design team of John

(Signature Theatre Company): Mark Barton (lighting), Ásta Bennie Hostetter (costumes), Mimi Lien (set), Noah Mease (props),Bray Poor (sound)

Dominique Morisseau (playwright) and Ruben Santiago-Hudson (director), Skeleton

Crew (Atlantic Theater Company)


Obie Grants ($4,000 prize to each theater)

Bedlam Theatre

Noor Theatre

Prospect Theatre Company


The Ross Wetzsteon Award ($3,000 prize)

NAATCO/National Asian American Theatre Company


Best New American Play ($1,000 prize)

Guards at the Taj by Rajiv Joseph (Atlantic Theatre Company


Lifetime Achievement Award

Carmen de Lavallade

A.R. Gurney


The Obie Award judges panel for this season, headed by Village Voice columnist and longtime Obie chairman Michael Feingold, included actress Quincy Tyler Bernstine, director Oliver Butler,  costume designer Clint Ramos, actress Juliet Rylance, Variety senior critic Marilyn Stasio, and freelance theatre critic Michael Sommers.

The Obie Awards are sponsored by the American Theatre Wing and The Village Voice.

Author: New York Theater

Jonathan Mandell is a 3rd generation NYC journalist, who sees shows, reads plays, writes reviews and sometimes talks with people.

Leave a Reply