2014 Astaire Award Nominees: Broadway Dancers, Choreographers

The nominees for the 32nd annual Fred & Adele Astaire Awards, which will be held on June 2:

 Outstanding Male Dancer in a Broadway Show

Julius Chisolm (After Midnight)

Nick Cordero (Bullets Over Broadway)

Virgil Gadson (After Midnight)

Jared Grimes (After Midnight)

Neil Patrick Harris (Hedwig and the Angry Inch)

James Monroe Iglehart (Aladdin)

Andy Karl (Rocky)

Desmond Richardson (After Midnight).

Outstanding Female Dancer in a Broadway Show:

Krystal Joy Brown (Big Fish)

Dormeshia Sumbry-Edwards (After Midnight)

Karine Plantadit (After Midnight)

Gayle Rankin (Cabaret)

Monique Smith (After Midnight)

Heléne Yorke (Bullets Over Broadway)

Karen Ziemba (Bullets Over Broadway).

Outstanding Choreographer for a Broadway Show:

Casey Nicholaw (Aladdin)

Susan Stroman (Big Fish and Bullets Over Broadway)

Warren Carlyle (After Midnight)

Steven Hoggett and Kelly Devine (Rocky)

Josh Prince (Beautiful — The Carole King Musical)

Peggy Hickey (A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder)

Rob Marshall (Cabaret).


Douglas Watt Lifetime Achievement Award

Pat Birch, choreographer

Outstanding Achievement in the Preservation of Musical Theatre Award:

Luigi, dancer and dance instuctor


Author: New York Theater

Jonathan Mandell is a 3rd generation NYC journalist, who sees shows, reads plays, writes reviews and sometimes talks with people.

Leave a Reply