2022 Drama Desk Award winners: Kimberly Akimbo, Company…

Kimberly Akimbo won outstanding musical in the 66th Annual Drama Desk Award, Prayer for the French Republic outstanding play, Company outstanding musical revival and How I Learned to Drive, outstanding revival of a play. The quartet of outstanding lead performers: Ruben Santiago-Hudson, Phylicia Rashad, Jaquel Spivey, and Joaquina Kalukango. Complete list of winners below.

(Full list of nominees here)

(Don’t know the difference between the Drama Desk and the Drama League and the Drama Critics Circle and the Outer Critics Circle awards? Check out my New York Theater Awards 2022: Guide and Calendar)

Outstanding Play
Prayer for the French Republic, by Joshua Harmon, Manhattan Theatre Club

Outstanding Musical
Kimberly Akimbo, Atlantic Theater Company

Outstanding Revival of a Play
How I Learned to Drive, Manhattan Theatre Club

Outstanding Revival of a Musical

Outstanding Actor in a Play
Ruben Santiago-Hudson, Lackawanna Blues, Manhattan Theatre Club

Outstanding Actress in a Play
Phylicia Rashad, Skeleton Crew, Manhattan Theatre Club

Outstanding Actor in a Musical
Jaquel Spivey, A Strange Loop

Outstanding Actress in a Musical
Joaquina Kalukango, Paradise Square

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play
Ron Cephas Jones, Clyde’s, Second Stage Theater

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play
Francis Benhamou, Prayer for the French Republic, Manhattan Theatre Clu

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical
Matt Doyle, Company

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical
Patti LuPone, Company

Outstanding Director of a Play
Rebecca Recall, Sanctuary City, New York Theatre Workshop

Outstanding Director of a Musical
Marianne Elliott, Company

Outstanding Choreography
Bill T. Jones, Garrett Coleman, and Jason Oremus (Irish + Hammerstep), Gelan Lambert and Chloe Davis (associates), Paradise Square

Outstanding Music
Toby Marlow and Lucy Moss, Six

Outstanding Lyrics
Toby Marlow and Lucy Moss, Six

Outstanding Book of a Musical
Bruce Sussman, Harmony, National Yiddish Theatre Folksbiene

Outstanding Orchestrations
Jason Michael Webb and David Holcenberg, MJ

Outstanding Music in a Play
Bill Sims Jr., Lackawanna Blues, Manhattan Theatre Club

Outstanding Scenic Design for a Play
Takeshi Kata, Clyde’s, Second Stage Theate

Outstanding Scenic Design for a Musical
Beowulf Boritt, Flying Over Sunset, Lincoln Center Theater

Outstanding Costume Design for a Play
Jennifer Moeller, Clyde’s, Second Stage Theater

Outstanding Costume Design for a Musical
Gabriella Slade, Six

Outstanding Lighting Design for a Play (tie)
Christopher Akerlind, Clyde’s, Second Stage Theater
Amith Chandrashaker, Prayer for the French Republic, Manhattan Theatre Club

Outstanding Lighting Design for a Musical (tie)
Natasha Katz, MJ
Bradley King, Flying Over Sunset, Lincoln Center Theater

Outstanding Projection Design
59 Productions, Flying Over Sunset, Lincoln Center Theate

Outstanding Sound Design for a Play
Ben and Max Ringham, Cyrano de Bergerac, The Jamie Lloyd Company at Brooklyn Academy of Music

Outstanding Sound Design for a Musical
Gareth Owen,  MJ

Outstanding Wig and Hair
David Brian Brown, Mrs. Doubtfire

Outstanding Solo Performance
Kristina Wong, Kristina Wong, Sweatshop Overlord, New York Theatre Worksho

Unique Theatrical Experience
Seven Deadly Sins, Tectonic Theater Project & Madison Wells Live

Outstanding Adaptation
Merry Wives, by Jocelyn Bioh, The Public Theater (Free Shakespeare in the Par

Outstanding Puppet Design
James Ortiz, The Skin of Our Teeth, Lincoln Center Theate

Harold S. Prince Lifetime Achievement Award

In four decades as playwright, novelist, actor, and director, Alice Childress (1912-1994) challenged racism with engrossing stories and memorable characters. When a New York producer demanded revisions to soften the impact of Trouble in Mind, after an initial run Off Broadway and prior to its Broadway debut, Childress withdrew the script. Sixty-five years later, the Drama Desk celebrates the long-delayed Broadway premiere of this timeless masterpiece and salutes Childress as a towering figure in contemporary theater history.

Ensemble Award

In Six, Adrianna Hicks, Andrea Macasaet, Brittney Mack, Abby Mueller, Samantha Pauly, and Anna Uzele bring to musical life the women who married England’s King Henry VIII. The fanciful result is a buoyant dramatization of their individually purposeful and collectively empowering journeys.

The Sam Norkin Off-Broadway Award

This season, as a woman hiding her brother from the Taliban in Sylvia Khoury’s Selling Kabul and an English instructor straddling two very different cultures in Sanaz Toossi’s EnglishMarjan Neshat embodied disparate characters so fully that it was hard to recognize the single actor in the two roles. Whether in drama or comedy, Neshat mines the playwright’s text for a vast panoply of emotions that yield vivid, intricate portrayals of the parts she undertakes.

Additional Special Awards

Dede Ayite seems to have costumed half the actors of this theater season with her designs for Merry WivesSeven Deadly SinsThe Last of the Love LettersChicken and BiscuitsSlave PlayNollywood DreamsAmerican Buffalo, and How I learned to Drive. Whether dressing working-class Marylanders of the 1960s, amateur criminals of the 1970s, or West African immigrants in today’s Harlem, Ayite has a knack for conveying characters’ means, values, and aspirations before the actors utter a word.

Adam Rigg enhanced storytelling through wildly varying scenic designs this season including: a house in wood, shadow, and reflective glass that draws the audience into the Flint, Michigan water crisis in Cullud Wattah; a community cul-de-sac where trauma and history are celebrated in On Sugarland

This year’s Drama Desk Award ceremony will take place at Sardi’s Restaurant  on June 14th from 3:00 – 6:00pm.

Author: New York Theater

Jonathan Mandell is a 3rd generation NYC journalist, who sees shows, reads plays, writes reviews and sometimes talks with people.

Leave a Reply